Generic Skills


Livestock and Pasture

Cooking and Nutrition

Animal welfare

First Aid

Handle and treat Sheep

Health and Safety

Handle and treat Cattle

Farm Hazards

Check and report on livestock

Employment Agreements

Livestock behaviour


Handling, moving and treatment of livestock


Presentation of livestock for sale or slaughter



Dag and Crutch Sheep


Woolshed Tasks

Scanning Livestock


Breeds and classes of sheep and cattle

Fencing material and maintenance

Grazing management, and feed livestock

Temporary electric fences

Supplementary Feeding

Farm Equipment and Vehicles

Farm water supplies

Chainsaw Maintenance and Use

Pest control

Basic wheel tractors

Dogs and Horses


Types and care of farm dogs


Use and care of farm horses


An understanding of the special relationship Iwi Māori have with the land and the dynamics of managing and governing collectively owned Māori land interests including Incorporations and Trusts will also be a component of the programme.


During the pre-cadet programme, depending on the unit standards you already have, you will work
towards completing NCEA with Primary Vocational Pathway – Level 2, the National Certificate in
Agriculture (Introductory Skills) and (General Skills) - Level 2.

For the first year of your cadetship you will be able to complete the National Certificate in Farming
(Work Ready) - Level 3.

In the second year you will be able to select and complete two of the following four level 3 National
Certificates in Agriculture:

National Certificate in Agriculture (Animal Health and Husbandry)

National Certificate in Agriculture (Stockmanship

National Certificate in Agriculture (Animal Feeding and Pastures)

National Certificate in Agriculture (Cattle Breeding – Beef Cattle)

Where to after the Programme?

Graduates from our cadet programme who go directly into employment in the industry will be able to continue their studies at levels 4 to 5 on the framework through a New Zealand apprenticeship as well as other PrimaryITO ‘Off Job Training’ options.

Options include the National Certificate in Agriculture - Level 4 leading to the National Certificate in Agriculture (Production Management) - Level 5.

If you demonstrate a high level of commitment and ability through the programme you will be encouraged to move onto Massey and Lincoln Universities and other recognised national tertiary educational institutions to complete agricultural diplomas and degrees before returning to the industry to work towards supervisory, technical and management levels.